Create Manual Groups

25.8.2026

This guide explains how to create manual groups, manage group members and assign courses to groups.

General Information

You can create two types of groups in the environment: manual groups and dynamic groups. You can use groups to assign courses to specific sets of users. Groups can be used, for example, for teams or organisational units.

Go to Group Management

  1. Open Administration.
  2. Go to Users > Groups.

Create a New Group

  1. Click the Create a new group button.
  2. Select Create a new group.
  3. Enter a name for the group.
  4. Enter any additional information if required.
  5. Click the Next button.
  6. If required, add the group to a course at this stage. (You can assign a course or courses also later.)
  7. Click the Create group button.

Add Members

  1. Open the required group.
  2. Click the Add members button.
  3. Search for the users you want to add. You can use the search function or filters to help find users.
  4. Select the required users.
  5. If required, select Send an e-mail notification to new members joining the course.
  6. Click the Adding x users button.
    The search function and filters help you find users more efficiently.
Clicking the search function opens a range of filters that make it easier to find users.
The search function and various filters make it easier to find users.

Remove Members

  1. Open the required group.
  2. Click the Remove members button.
  3. Select the users you want to remove.
  4. Click the Remove x users button.

Assign a Course to a Group

  1. Open the required group.
  2. Click the Group info and settings button.
  3. Click the Courses button.
  4. Enter the course name in the Search course field.
  5. If required, select Required course for group members.
  6. Click the Save button.

Set a Group Landing Page

  1. Open the required group.
  2. Click the Group info and settings button.
  3. Click the Landing page button.
  4. Select a home page or course as the group’s landing page.
  5. Click the Save button.

Delete a Group

  1. Open the required group.
  2. Click the Group info and settings button.
  3. Click the Remove group button.
  4. If group members are enrolled on courses, define how they should be handled.
  5. Click the Remove button.

Note

  • When a course is assigned to a group, the group members are enrolled on the course automatically.
  • When a user is removed from a group, they are also removed from courses assigned to that group.
  • Course Administrators are not removed from a course automatically, even if the group is removed from the course.
  • You can filter reports by group.