Manage Roles
26.8.2026
This article explains how to view, create and edit user roles.
Overview
Roles allow you to define the permissions that users have within courses. Roles are course-specific, which means that a user can have different roles in different courses.
Go to Role Management
- Open Administration.
- Go to Users > Roles.
Create a New Role
- Click Create a New Role.
- Enter a name for the role.
- Note: Use a clear and descriptive name whenever possible.
- Select the permissions for the role:
- User can administrate the course
- User can create content in the course
- User can copy, delete or archive the course
- User sees all course statistics
- User can take part in the course as a learner
- Click Save.
Edit an Existing Role
- Find the role that you want to edit.
- Click the role name and then click Edit.
- Note: Built-in roles cannot be edited.
- Update the role details.
- Click Save.
Delete a Role
- Find the role that you want to delete.
- Click the role name and then click Delete.
- Select the role to which the members will be transferred.
- Click Delete.
- Confirm the deletion by clicking Delete.
Notes
- Create roles that are as clear and purpose-specific as possible (for example, Trainer or Learner).
- If you modify a role, the changes apply to all users who are assigned that role.
- The environment includes four built-in roles with the most common default settings. These roles cannot be edited.