Define permission levels
31.8.2026
Tässä ohjeessa käydään läpi, miten tarkastelet, luot ja muokkaat valtuustasoja.
Permissions allow you to restrict a user’s rights at the environment level. Unlike with roles, each user can only have one permission level. The following permissions can be defined via an permission level:
- The user can manage the environment:
- The user has user management rights
- The user can create courses and has access to the administrator view
- The user can create tests and has access to the administrator view
- The user can manage events
- The user can add announcements to the login page
- The user can view environment reports
- The user cannot edit their own details
- The user cannot change their password
- The Materials section is not available
- The Help Centre is not available
If the Administrator role has been assigned to a user, and the user is authorised to manage the environment or any of its sub-options, the title Administrator will appear below the user’s profile picture. If any of the other permissions have been assigned to the authorisation level, the title Learner will appear below the profile picture. The title Manager may also appear below the profile picture if the user acts as a manager for one or more users.
Go to permission management
- Open Administration.
- Go to Users > Permissions.
Create a new permission level
- Click the Create a new permission level button.
- Enter a descriptive name for the permission level.
- Define the level’s permissions.
- Click the Save button.
Edit an existing permission level
- Find the permission level you want to edit.
- Click the permission level name and the Edit button that appears.
- Update the permission level details.
- Click the Save button.
Delete a permission level
- Find the permission level you want to delete.
- Click the permission level name and the Delete button that appears.
- If the permission level is in use, define which permission level the users will be moved to.
- Click the Delete button.
- Confirm the deletion by clicking the Delete button again.
Set the default permission level
- Go to Default permission level.
- Select the desired permission level from the drop-down menu.
- Click the Save button.
Note
- Create permission levels that are as clear and purposeful as possible.
- If a permission level is edited afterwards, the changes will affect all users to whom the permission level has been assigned.
- The environment includes five predefined locked permission levels that contain the most common default settings. These permission levels cannot be edited.